A ministry like Samaritas needs sustained support to carry out its mission.

The Samaritas Foundation was established to assure ongoing funding for Samaritas programs through endowment. When a donor’s gift goes into the endowment, the earnings are used but the principal remains intact, continuing to earn interest. Gifts to the endowment are perpetual, and continue to support the Samaritas mission year after year.

Carl E. Thomas, the president/CEO from 1973 to 1999, steered the organization through tremendous growth. As a tribute, the board established the Carl E. Thomas Endowment Fund, which is managed today by the Samaritas Foundation. Earnings from the Carl E. Thomas Endowment Fund support Samaritas programs across the state. Other Samaritas Foundation Endowment funds include: Wilsterman Fund, Gregersen Fund, Nussdorfer Fund, Holle Fund and Meints Funds.

Gifts may be made directly to the fund, or you may choose to name the Samaritas Foundation in your will, trust or as an insurance benficiary. To learn how you can create a legacy, please call the Samaritas Development Department at (313) 308-8860.

Foundation Board

Executive Committee

David Dion, Chair
Linda Morin, Vice Chair
David Wohleen, Secretary
Tracy Teich, Treasurer

Foundation Trustees

Ellen Batkie
Sheilda Braddock
Dan Carter
Richard Christiansen
Rev. Terry Daly
Father William Danaher
Lloyd Fell
Rev. Gerald Ferguson
Rev. Fred Fritz
Amy Gibbs
Jack Greiner
Rev. Rod Hill
Linda Jabas
Rev. Erick Johnson
Kent Johnson
Steve Kesler
Rev. William Lindholm
David Lochner
John Mayes
John McLaughlin
Rev. William Moldwin
Rev. Colleen Nieman
Michael Nussdorfer
Mark Odland
Jason Paulateer
Judy Pifferello
Tom Post
Debra Radloff
Jean Schluckebier
Tom Seppo
Harold Sollenberger
Pat Thomas
Richard Weingartner
Matt Pedersen, ex-officio
Sam Beals, ex-officio