A ministry like Samaritas needs sustained support to carry out its mission.

The Samaritas Foundation was established to assure ongoing funding for Samaritas programs through endowment. When a donor’s gift goes into the endowment, the earnings are used but the principal remains intact, continuing to earn interest. Gifts to the endowment are perpetual, and continue to support the Samaritas mission year after year.

Carl E. Thomas, the president/CEO from 1973 to 1999, steered the organization through tremendous growth. As a tribute, the board established the Carl E. Thomas Endowment Fund, which is managed today by the Samaritas Foundation. Earnings from the Carl E. Thomas Endowment Fund support Samaritas programs across the state. Other Samaritas Foundation Endowment funds include: Wilsterman Fund, Gregersen Fund, Nussdorfer Fund, Holle Fund and Meints Funds.

Gifts may be made directly to the fund, or you may choose to name the Samaritas Foundation in your will, trust or as an insurance beneficiary. To learn how you can create a legacy, please call the Samaritas Development Department at (313) 308-8860.

Board of Directors

Board Chairman

David Morin


David Lochner


Jason Paulateer


Dan Carter


Andrew Blum
Miller Canfield
Tracey Brame
WMU-Cooley Law School
Rev. Canon Dr. William Danaher
Christ Church Cranbrook
Dale Gerard
General Motors
Mary Anne Jones
Priority Health
The Rev. Donald P. Kreiss, Bishop
Southeast Michigan Synod, ELCA
Franz Salas
Latricia Trice
Amway Corporation
John E. Vande Guchte
Strategies Wealth Advisors, LLC
Brett VanderKamp
New Holland Brewing
Dr. Floyd Wilson Jr.
Pinnacle Construction Group

foundation trustees

David Wohleen, Chair
Sarah Pobocik, Vice-Chair
Ellen Batkie, Secretary
Bonnie Reyes, Treasurer
Rev. Rosanne Anderson
Paul Balas
Kevin Blaser
Sheilda Braddock
Carolyn Dwyer
Rev. Dr. Charles B. Hardwick
Rev. Erick Johnson
Kent Johnson
John Mayes
David Nachman
Michael Nussdorfer
Carolyn Russell
Jean Schluckebier
Tracy Teich
Pat Thomas
Judy Zehnder-Keller
Sam Beals, ex-officio